WiSE Learning Community Peer Mentors

The peer mentor is a student staff member who acts as the primary point of contact between the Program for Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) and the members of the Learning Communities. The WiSE Learning Communities are residentially based and activities last for an academic year. Each learning community is comprised of approximately 20-25 first-year women majoring in a science, technology, engineering, or math (STEM) major. Because women are an underrepresented population within the STEM majors, they often feel isolated and disconnected from campus. The WiSE Learning Communities exist to reduce these feelings and to assist students with their transitions to college. Each learning community is led by one peer mentor, who work to serve as a role model for their students. Peer Mentors assist learning community members in achieving the following goals:

  • increased capacity to succeed in diverse and challenging curricula
  • development of community leadership skills
  • development of a greater sense of personal well-being
  • increased self-efficacy
  • increased career maturity
  • create a community based on shared goals of scholarship and excellence
  • development of cross cultural understanding

Peer Mentor Job Description

2013 First-year Coordinators and Peer Mentors

First Name Last Name Position Telephone Email
Coordinators
Kelli Campa First-year Learning Community Coordinator 515-294-9964 pwselcw@iastate.edu
Julia Collett First-year Learning Community Coordinator 515-294-9964 pwselce@iastate.edu
Allie Rowe Undergraduate Programs Coordinator 515-294-5278 arowe@iastate.edu
First Name Last Name WiSE Floor Major Email
Peer Mentors
Snow Bai Oak King Industrial Engineering baixue@iastate.edu
Chelsea Barry Willow Bates Chemical Engineering cnbarry@iastate.edu
Sydney Butikofer Willow Tompkins Dietetics sbutikof@iastate.edu
Julia Hagan Oak Sims Kinesiology and Health jmhagan@iastate.edu
Nicole Kittleson Elm Turner Industrian Engineering nicolek@iastate.edu
Erin Kollar Martin Campbell Materials Engineering ekkollar@iastate.edu
Megan Komos Friley O'Bryan Industrial Engineering mmkomos@iastate.edu
Glenna Lovig Helser Rowe Civil Engineering gmlovig@iastate.edu
Emily Naughton Friley Pennell Biology naughton@iastate.edu
Stephanie Nielsen Oak Fosmark Animal Science steph48@iastate.edu
Camille Perk Friley Palmer Industrial Engineering ceperk@iastate.edu
Erin Petty Eaton Tilden Industrial Engineering eqpetty@iastate.edu
Kathryn Vincent Friley Henderson Aerospace Engineering kvincent@iastate.edu